Golden Triangle Tourist Circuit

Golden Triangle Tourist Circuit

The Golden Triangle tourist circuit is a tour of the cities of Delhi, Agra and Jaipur in India. The three cities form the vertices of a nice looking triangle. Delhi, Agra and Jaipur are historical cities with rich heritage and has a number of very popular tourist spots. The perimeter of the golden triangle is 643 kilometers. The three cities are well connected by train, air and road and a minimum of a week long travel plan is required to cover the golden triangle and see the fascinating tourist places in the three cities. The Golden Triangle Tourist Circuit is the most popular tourist package in India.


humayun tomb Golden Triangle Tourist Circuit

There are many monuments in Delhi. As an old historical city, forts and citadels were built here by rulers over time and one can find old ruins at so many places. And there are many parks, landscapes and green forests around. In between these ruins and open spaces, the capital city of New Delhi with wide roads, beautiful markets and elegant buildings has been built in the 1920s. The Old city, with nostalgic charm of its own, has even more busier markets and has, of course, the monuments. The places to see in Delhi are the Qutub Minar, the Red Fort, Jama Masjid, Humayun's Tomb, the Old Fort, National Zoological Park, the India Gate, Bahá’í House of Worship which is popularly known as the Lotus Temple, Akshardham Temple and the Lodi Gardens. Qutub Minar, Red Fort and the Humayun's Tomb are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.


taj mahal Golden Triangle Tourist Circuit

Agra is the city of the Taj Mahal, the mausoleum built by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan in the memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is one of the seven wonders of the world. About 11,000 tourists come from the near as well as far places to see the Taj Mahal in a day. There is also the splendid Agra Fort with beautiful palaces and courts. Other important places to see are the I’tmad-ud-Daula’s Tomb and the Akbar’s Tomb at Sikandra, in the outskirts of Agra. About 37 km west of Agra, is the famed city of Fatehpur Sikri, which was the capital of the Mughal emperor, Akbar the Great, during the years 1571-85. Fatehpur Sikri has the mosque and palace complexes. The mosque complex has Buland Darwaza, which is a massive gateway, the Jama Masjid, the tomb of Shaikh Salim Chisti and the tomb of Islam Khan. The palace complex has the Diwan-I-Am, Diwan-I-Khas, Panch Mahal, Anup Talao and the palaces. Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.


city palace Golden Triangle Tourist Circuit

Jaipur is the capital of the Indian state of Rajasthan. Jaipur was founded by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II in 1727. The most wonderful tourist place in Jaipur is the Jantar Mantar observatory for astronomical measurements and observations. Jantar Mantar at Jaipur is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The other places to see are the City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Man Sagar Lake and Jal Mahal, Amber Fort, Jaigarh Fort, Nahargarh Fort and the Central Museum located inside the Albert Hall.

Filed Under: Travel


Comments (2)

Leave a Reply | Trackback URL

  1. PN Subramanian says:

    Beautiful intro. Similarlr to this we have a golden triangle covering Bhubaneswar, Konark and Puri.

  2. Ranita Sinha says:

    Like the information provided in the post..


Leave a Reply

eight − = 6